Ooops……I bought the wrong wedding dress

I never really saw the dress as a huge deal and I was adamant and I was not going to spend thousands. I wanted to spend as little as possible and have something really plain and simple but a bit different.

I went shopping with Laura my bridesmaid and it was all really quite overwhelming! We would go into a shop and leave again reasonably quickly as EVERYHING was tulle or lace, fishtail or mermaid or that Gatsby/Downtown style. It seems what I have been looking for isn’t that fashionable right now.

It felt like I had tried on everything there was in all shapes and sizes. Even tulle brilliant white ballgowns with feather bodices! I didn’t know what I was going to do. How do you know you have found “the one”?

I made an impulsive decision a couple of months ago (maybe a bit longer). I went and tried on some dresses with my daughter. We went into the local town to get school shoes and I bought a wedding dress. Imagine! I tried it on Evie loved it so called Laura down all muddy from her dog walk and she loved it, it felt pretty good so hey presto!

IMG_6482-1.JPG
Ever since I have been trying to convince myself it’s “the one” but it isn’t working and I have found myself quite grumpy and sad about it. The problem is what do I do now!?

The dress itself is lovely. Its La Sposa, satin and Ivory and beautiful but the front of the bodice is just not right.

I have made some appointments with a couple of dress makers so maybe I can just get it altered!

I would love to keep it because I bought it in what can only be described as a charity shop! One of the local bridal shops closed and donated all of their sample gowns to a children’s hospice. The hospice set up a “pop up” bridal shop with the dresses. Isn’t it just a fab idea? I love that I was helping a children’s hospice in buying the dress and getting a bargain at the same time.

If anyone has any helpful suggestions or if you have also done this please do let me know!
Thanks for reading x

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/13343201/?claim=pwxjcc3nj7f”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

3 thoughts on “Ooops……I bought the wrong wedding dress

  1. Hey DB. I struggled with trying to find a dress for ages. I have never liked looking at myself in anything, most especially not something that would make me stand out! My Mum came out to Sydney for 2 weeks and I knew she was really keen for me to buy one whilst she was here so I set up lots of appointments and tried on lots of ridiculous dresses. I eventually found one that I quite liked and went back to buy it one morning when the lady in the shop told me to pick out some others for comparison just to make sure. Good job too as I found another one that I liked better and ended up going with that.

    I never felt like I had found “the one”, some stunning dress that would instantly turn me into Gisele! I wish! Even on the day I wasn’t 100%. It helps so much when you have your hair done nicely and full make up on. And also when everyone else around you is dressed up too.

    I think that if you have found one that means something to you then stick with it as I really don’t believe in “the one”. If you can find a dressmaker who can alter the bodice more to your liking then definitely aim for that. I am sure you will look stunning regardless! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I cant call you Crawsh anymore! Your dress was beautiful. It sounds like you are saying the same as everyone else. You just know when you find the one you feel best in……. You have Wendy Makin in Oz tho. I live her floral gown! X

      Like

Please feel free to leave a reply

